Goodbye 2013

969119_516036241796672_775874472_n

I don’t know how you feel about the past year. Whether it was a happy, hard, easy or sad one. We all have it different.

What we feel. I mean really feel on the inside is somewhat more complex. Difficult to articulate or put in words. Always is for me!

But, I need to say a proper thank you and goodbye to 2013…

Thank you for the opportunity to have lived through a year of freelance. I’m still here… phew! I still have toilet paper money left 🙂
Jokes aside, freelance IS for everyone. Anyone who believes and has the knowledge and perseverance to drive their passion. It’s not an elite group. It’s not for the rich… I digress. This is not what my post is about. It’s about being thankful. Nothing else. So thank you 2013 – I salute you! for the difficulties, lessons learnt, people I met, and the support I had to carry me through. It’s being quite a ride!

Goodbye. I find goodbyes awkward. Don’t you? Even with friends or family or just simply saying bye to my mom for the night. It’s not the act of saying goodbye that fills me with an uneasy feeling. It’s the worry of what happens next. Like when someone you love dies. Or when someone you love goes to another country or lover. It’s a selfish feeling. Hurt for not doing enough. Hurt for doing too much and feeling a fool for it. It’s the worry of what happens next that make goodbyes sad.

Yes, goodbyes are sad, but some are also happy. A relief. Or an accomplishment! Or an end to a story that begins another. Goodbyes are necessary. They end a period. To begin a new. A new beginning or new day. A new year…

So this new year these are my hopes…

  • don’t take the normal, boring days for granted
  • turn challenges into opportunities, but choose them well
  • work on work that matters – or create ones that do
  • don’t make the same resolutions or the same mistakes, and always learn from them
  • add value in a way only you can
  • collaborate with those who share a passion and respect for their work and yours
  • never stop learning.

A toast to 2014! from a quote by Sonia Ricotti …

Accept what is. Let go of what was, and have faith in what will be.”

Goodbye 2013. Hello 2014!!!

Leave a Reply

