OK, SO I WAS WRONG…

… BUT ONLY HALF WRONG πŸ˜‰

id-know-it-if-i-was-wrong

Unlike Dr Sheldon Cooper, from the Big Bang Theory http://bigbangtheory.wikia.com/wiki/Sheldon_Cooper, I like to think of myself as someone who will admit to mistakes. Or come up with a theory believeable enough to convince the next person that in fact they are the one’s who are wrong, and that you’ve just helped them from a pitiful display of stupidity πŸ™‚

But this post is not about Dr Sheldon Cooper.

I could have, and perhaps should have, deleted my previous post. But I like to see growth, and mistakes, and realisation of those mistakes, is growth.

I was tied between writing on lessons learnt on bad clients and doing work just for the money. Somehow, both ideas wanted to surface. Bad idea to pull two completely different scenarios into one blog post.

So here’s the thing.

I need to rectify what I said in my previous post.

Bad clients are bad clients. As long as you learn your lessons and share those lessons along the way.

In doing work for the money …

… as a friend of mine said, it may land you more jobs with that client, and it may even land you one or two really cool jobs too. Freelancing is a gamble. We all know this.

She’s so right, but there’s one more thing I failed to see about paying work.

They are tickets. Tickets to help you get closer to your dream. Tickets that help pay towards those dreams. We all need those ‘only do it for the money’ jobs. But, as I said, I wasnt all that wrong, because the most important thing to remember is….

… as long as working for the money is not the only thing you do as a freelancer.

Work towards something. Towards a dream or goal. A place you picture yourself in. A place you picture yourself doing the kind of work you always wanted to, and get paid for it!

Imagine yourself in that place. Every. Single. Day. Eventually your dream will turn reality.

All you have to do is be disciplined, patient, have good friends to help you along the way, and believe.

Leave a Reply

